August 8-14 Goal: 2000 Words

The first week of my experiment. I have to say that I am both very excited and nervous. A friend has already volunteered the punishment for this week.

Two grown men beating me with sticks is a little drastic Jon. You know better than to get Quentin so excited. So don’t get out your quarterstaff just yet.

My goal for this week is an easy 200 hundred words per night. This includes a TWOS story and …this is where I stumble, what else should I do?

I have the idea,  a lot of notes, and weak beginning for a book. I really want to write this book, but I am terrified I wont do the idea justice, or worse yet, that the idea just plain sucks. I guess that doesn’t mean a whole lot because it isn’t even written yet. The characters are ghosts in my mind that have yet to gain a corporal form through written words. I think they are mad at me that I keep them in limbo. I think they would be even angrier when I give them a stick figure body rather than the Michelangelo masterpiece that they deserve. I don’t want them to be like the first pancakes off of the grill that are deformed, half-baked, and get tossed in the trash or to the dogs. I suppose that those first pancakes are necessary to get the rest of the batch just right.

Oh boy, Sacrificial Pancake Characters, I apologize in advance.

 

 

2 thoughts on “August 8-14 Goal: 2000 Words

  1. Start a writers noteook, sit down and actively look back on your day and jot down ideas, scenes that popped into your heard, dialogue you might have imaged as you were people watching. Don’t focus on writing stories or anything like that. Just write and then next week you ca nbuild on it by picking something out of your notebook and run with it!

  2. It’s called,’layers.’ First drafts rarely (if ever) do our characters or the idea burning inside our minds justice. But we have to start…expecting that when we are finished there will be a lot of ‘trash’ to take out. I know this from experience. My first draft of Blue Rain was atrocious! I’m embarrassed I let you read it. Only after the process did I see how crucial all of the ‘trash’ was because it helped steer me in the direction I needed to go to hone both my characters and my story into something worthy of paper. (um… computer screen.) Don’t negate those sacrificial pancakes. They truly are indispensable. So I say, “Fire up the griddle!”

Leave a Reply

